

Celebrating Women Chemists Making Women's History Month Relevant

March 2025. The Maryland local section of the American Chemical Society joins Women Chemists Committee, WCC in recognizing the work of ACS Maryland section members that make a difference in the initiatives and projects of WCC.

The March 10, 2025 C&EN article (p.41) from Lorena Tribe, Chair ACS Women Chemists Committee, brought to our attention the importance of being "... aware of our role for future generations: our choices today will be the history of tomorrow". The article reminded us of the great choices we had over the years selecting the local section leaders, seeking excellent speakers for the WCC annual lectures and creating a venue for younger women in the chemistry field.

The ACS Maryland Section chair and the awards committee chair, has prepared a recognition dinner of Dean Sarah L.J. Michel from the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy to celebrate her contribution to science research, DEIR and encouragement of younger girls from high school to post-doc levels. Dean Michel will receive the award of Maryland Chemist of the Year. The WCC Merck Research lead by Rebecca Ruck that recognizes exceptional individuals in their last years of their graduate school, presented a great lecture for WCC Maryland in 2023, we became aware of WCC Rising Star Awards and WCC Merck Awards symposium thru her. This year, WCC speaker Dr. Rajalakshmi Heyrovska's lecture was an attention call to younger girls with mathematical minds. The section's Vice chair, Johns Hopkins University and Chair Elect from the Community College of Baltimore County, CCBC, attended the ACS Leadership Institute in January; they have organized fairs for younger chemistry students, always looking to lead the way for women in chemistry. Louise Hellwigh the section' secretary is an avid Project SEED recruiter for young women interested in chemistry. For more information on WCC and other local section events see the local section's website: acsmaryland.org.

MEET some of the WOMEN that makes a difference at ACS Maryland Local Section. Officers:

<u>Beatrice Salazar</u> Chair 2025, ACS Maryland Section



Chair, Maryland Chemist of the Year Award Committee

Sunita Thyagarajan Vice-chair, ACS Maryland Section



JHU, Associate Teaching Professor of Chemistry

Ayse Gul YavuzZ Chair Elect, ACS Maryland Section



Professor of Chemistry at Community College of Baltimore County, CCBC

Louise Hellwig Secretary, ACS Maryland Section



Organic Chemistry
Instructor at
Morgan State University
443 885 2085



Continue from P.T.

WCC COMMITTEE

Kelly Elkin

Professor | Chemistry | Co-Director, TU Human Remains DNA | Identification Laboratory (THRIL) Co-Chair of WCC, Councilor, ACS Maryland Local

Section



kmelkins@towson.edu | www.towson.edu/fcsm/departments/chemistry/facultystaff/kel kins.html | http://wp.towson.edu/kmelkins/

Saraswathi Narayan



Chair of the ACS Maryland Student Awards program and Co-Chair of WCC.

Chair of the Nominations Committee, ACS Maryland Local Section

WCC SPEAKERS & Distinguish Guests:

2025 Speaker: Dr. Rajalakshmi Heyrovska March 12, 2025

The simple Nature of the Chemical Bond uncovered by a change of sign in Bohr's Energy of an atom



The golden ratio...

WCC Merck

Rebecca Ruck Associate Vice President, Process R&D Enabling Technologies, Merck& Co.



WCC-ACS Maryland local Section Lecture, 2023

Distinguish attendee to 2025 WCC Lecture **Mary Singleton**, Chemist, Berkeley

"Through Mary's leadership countless women chemists have seen their career advance..." c&en Feb. 16, 2009 Vol.87, Issue 7



A distinguished scientist who worked at Lawrence Livermore Labs as Nuclear Facilities Manager and Research Chemist. She is now retired. She is extremely active in issues related to science and to women.