

Minutes of Executive Meeting of Maryland Section of the American Chemical Society Kismet Cafe, 1311 Londontown Blvd., Sykesville, MD 21784 December 3, 2019 Chair Dana Ferraris, presiding

Present: Eric Cotton, Merle Eiss, Kelly Elkins, George Farrant, Dana Ferraris, Michele Foss, Mike Hands, Louise Hellwig, Jan Kolakowski, Sara Narayan, Jim Saunders, Angela Sherman, Stephanie Watson, Pumtiwitt McCarthy (by phone), Sarah Zimmerman (by phone)

The recent election procedure was discussed at length. This year's method saved a lot of money but resulted in fewer votes. It was decided that in the future, if there's a contested election, we will pay for an election service that is likely to get better voter turnout. If the election is uncontested, we will use the free service.

Pumtiwitt would like to be relieved of working on the Section website and social media. Dana will ask Jen Schmitt. Sarah agreed to do the website. Pumtiwitt will contact Beatrice about assisting.

Louise reported that about 30 people attended the Braude Award meeting Oct. 23 at Towson University. The awardee, Dr. Devadas, made a presentation about her research.

The ACS Leadership Institute will be held in Atlanta January 24-26, 2020. No one from our section will attend this time, but Sarah will try to go in 2021.

Dana report that Tom Muir of Princeton will receive the Remsen Award at Johns Hopkins University Nov. 5 or 6, 2020, or perhaps the following weekend.

Funds were approved for Beatrice Salazar for the Chemistry Olympiad and for Earth Day activities.

Angela reported that Andy Coop of the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy will receive the award of Chemist of the Year on December 10. Cost is \$10; only appetizers will be served rather than a full meal. Pumtiwitt and Sarah will send out parking details in a notice in the next few days.. We have not received a Citation Certificate for this award from Governor Hogan.

Jan agreed to be Chair of the Senior Chemists Committee. [Jan subsequently stated that he will be Chair of the newly formed Chemical Technicians Committee. Merle has agreed to be Chair of the Senior Chemists Committee.] The ACS no longer has an official lobbyist, so there is really no committee on Public or Government Affairs.



Dana will ask Jen Schmitt about being Chair of the Younger Chemists Committee. Rose Pesce-Rodriguez will be Chair of the National Chemistry Week (NCW) Committee. Angela reported on poetry contest on the entries to the Poetry Contest Rose organized for NCW; the Section provided \$300 in awards to the students winners.

Stephanie reminded us that the Annual Report must be written up soon. Are there any nominations for Chem Luminaries? Stephanie has a \$3500 innovative grant that she will not be using but could transfer to someone else. A survey of Section members was proposed with the goal of stimulating members to greater activity. If Pumtiwitt comes up with a survey, Angela will write it into the budget for next year.

Angela would like to step down as Chair of the Maryland Chemist of the Year Committee. Might Jen succeed her?

Angela has spoken with Lee Lefkowitz about taking over as Treasurer after one year.

Jan reported that our Fidelity Contra fund has \$66,454, up \$2000. Our Nicholas fund has \$90,490, up \$3000 since September.

Angela reported that we have about \$36000 in Money Market funds.

The speaker for the Student Awards Luncheon March 29 at Notre Dame is Mike Edelstein. Mike, an excellent salesman, is an entrepreneur and owns his own company dealing with physical chemistry measurements. George is looking for ideas for the awards to be given to these top graduating seniors from Maryland colleges/universities.

Paul Smith sent in a report about the Earth Day event he is organizing for April 21. Lee Blaney of UMBC will speak on "The Environment Is on Drugs". The event will be held at Heavy Seas Brewery.

Angela gave Dana a present from the Section in recognition of his service as Chair for 2019.

Michelle and Louise will organize a trip to MISCellaneous Distillery in Mount Airy, hopefully for February 2020.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Louise Hellwig, Secretary